ELL Policy Project: Acknowledgements

Our ELL Policy section was made possible by the Carnegie Corporation, as well as a number of advisors and friends of the Colorín Colorado project. We'd first like to offer a special thanks to Andrés Henríquez, Program Officer and Project Manager for Literacy and Standards, Carnegie Corporation.

Friends and Advisors

In addition, thanks to our the following:

Project Advisors:

  • Nancy Cloud, Rhode Island College
  • Dr. Karen Ford, University of Virginia
  • Dr. Robin Scarcella, University of California — Irvine
  • Rebecca Freeman Field, Caslon Publishing
  • Giselle Lundy-Ponce, American Federation of Teachers
  • Beth Antuñez, American Federation of Teachers

Federal and State Policy Guide Authors:

  • Dr. Debbie Zacarian, Collaborative for Educational Services
  • Blake Spitz, Collaborative for Educational Services


  • Sharon Adelman Reyes, DiversityLearningK12
  • James Crawford, DiversityLearningK12
  • Patricia Gándara, University of California - Los Angeles
  • Fred Genesee, McGill University
  • Cynthia Lundgren, Hamline University
  • Paula Markus, Toronto District School Board
  • Karen Nemeth, Language Castle
  • Dr. Laurie Olsen, Californians Together
  • Kristina Robertson, Burnsville School District, MN
  • John Segota, Teachers of English for Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
  • Diane Staehr-Fenner, TESOL
  • Joaquín Tamayo, Aspen Institute
  • Wayne Wright, University of Texas — San Antonio

U.S. Department of Education:

  • Supreet Anand, Title III State Consolidated Grants
  • Dr. Rosalinda Barrera, Office of English Language Acquisition
  • Millie Bentley-Memon, Title III State Consolidated Grant Group
  • Lillian Dorka, Office for Civil Rights
  • Dr. Joanne Urrutia, Office of English Language Acquisition


  • Jennifer Bagley, Education Week
  • Norma Barrera, Texas Education Agency
  • Maria Czop, Heinemann Press
  • Rebecca Freeman Field, Caslon Publishing
  • Catherine Gerbasi, Portage and Main
  • Beverly Rivero and Libby Powell, Teachers College Press
  • Elinor Robertson, Multilingual Matters
  • Judith Wilburn, Harvard University Press

Colorín Colorado/WETA Staff

  • Lydia Breiseth, Manager, Colorín Colorado
  • Noel Gunther, Executive Director
  • Christian Lindstrom, Director, Learning Media
  • Tina Chovanec, Manager, Reading Rockets
  • Shalini Anand, Senior Manager, Web Development
  • Ashley Gilleland, Associate Producer
  • Laura Schreiber, Web Producer
  • Kelly Deckert, Associate Manager, Online Media
  • Justin Rhodes, Project Coordinator
  • Karen Ford, Ph.D., Research Consultant
  • Laurie Fry, Publicist

Finally, thanks to the state coordinators who helped verify statewide information and all of our visitors who contributed their feedback and questions, with a special thanks to graduate student Juliet James for her helpful input.